Farewell

[27-July, Windhoek]  People have been asking us lately, “So how do you feel about leaving Namibia?” And I say, It’s okay. It was the plan all along. I’ll miss a lot of the people I met – both Namibians and Americans. I’ll miss the challenges, although I expect more to come. I wish my understanding of how to navigate toward my goal of helping people had come to me faster. Maybe I didn’t ask enough of the right questions. Maybe if I had insinuated myself into the lives of Namibian’s. But that’s now water over the dam – or under the bridge – spilled milk. I know I had some positive impact. And that’s enough for me. Besides there are some things I will be doing from Ohio to further my contribution to the good people in Namibia via the wonders of modern communication technology. So tonight, as we make sure our seat backs and tray tables are in their upright and locked positions, I will see the Land of the Brave slip away and feel a tinge of sadness blended with hope for the future of Namibia as a maturing country and for the Namibian people who contribute their best efforts to making things better every day.

Beauty Pageant

Beauty pageant right there in our front yard! And a fabulous dinner at the Canyon Hotel. Enjoyed Carol-Ann, Candy and Geraldine’s company.

Love from Charmilla

 

01July 2016 Central Lodge Katrina and Nicole (5)

About Steve Link

In Namibia with the U.S. Peace Corps July 2014 - July 2016. View all posts by Steve Link

3 responses to “Farewell

  • Wendy Gustafson

    Steve: You must remember how long the approval process was for you to go to Namibia. And it worked and you went there. You will never really know what you did and what you left behind. But God will use all your leftovers in ways you may never know or imagine. What is sure is that God wanted you and Barbara there and now He and I want you home. Sometimes your life isn’t about you at all. Isn’t that funny! Be safe. Love Wendy Gus

  • Elle Eddy

    Looking forward to seeing you soon!

    On Fri, Jul 29, 2016 at 12:30 PM, Steve & Barbara in Namibia wrote:

    > Steve Link posted: “[27-July, Windhoek] People have been asking us > lately, “So how do you feel about leaving Namibia?” And I say, It’s okay. > It was the plan all along. I’ll miss a lot of the people I met – both > Namibians and Americans. I’ll miss the challenges, although I e” >

  • Diana Link

    Hi! Folks ! Just got THIS !! I’ve been at Karen’s farm in upstate N.Y. I hope you had a GOOD trip and will be HAPPY wherever you are !! LOTS of LOVE, Mom

    On Fri, Jul 29, 2016 at 12:30 PM, Steve & Barbara in Namibia wrote:

    > Steve Link posted: “[27-July, Windhoek] People have been asking us > lately, “So how do you feel about leaving Namibia?” And I say, It’s okay. > It was the plan all along. I’ll miss a lot of the people I met – both > Namibians and Americans. I’ll miss the challenges, although I e” >

Leave a Reply

