Ain’t No Sunshine When She’s Gone …but it sure is HOT!

Saturday afternoon = 93 F right now.

Last night before dinner I gathered a few stones for our walkway.  Returning to the “compound” I passed neighbors who were sitting outside chatting as the sun had set and the heat had turned to mere warmth.  Charmaine asked if I missed Barbara.  I said Yes, but that I had been alone before when Barbara would travel to Saudi Arabia, Europe or Malaysia for her business.  Charmaine said, “Well you’re not alone.  We are all here.”  I almost cried.  As I settled down with a movie and my “mean bean” creation there was a knock at the door.  It was Charmaine’s husband Paul with two bottles of wine.  He said, “Would you like one?  I’ll let you choose.”  I was happily surprised and very grateful. We always have some cheap box wine on hand and I’d planned to have a few glasses, but this South Africa Shiraz was so good that I emptied the bottle as the movie ended.

“What movie did you watch?”  Thought you might ask.  It was Confessions of a Dangerous Mind, sort of autobiographical of Chuck Barris the looney host of The Gong Show and creator of the Dating Game and the Newlywed Game TV series.  I enjoyed it.  It was nicely done, quite clever with a very solid cast (and even tiny cameos by Pitt and Damon).

Barbara should have just landed in ATL for a layover before heading to Cinci where she is having some med tests at Christ Hospital.  Assuming the results are all good news, she will surely have a good time with old friends.  I miss her and worry about her and hope this will turn out to be more of a vacation for her.  We should know for sure by Weds or Thurs.

blog desks (4) blog desks blog front yard 1 blog Guava tree chairs front yard 28 Feb (4) blog mean bean entree blog medical imaging blog Shiraz blog UNAM Panel 26 Feb (1) blog veggees blog veggies Chameleons Windhoek blog front yard 28 Feb (2)

About Steve Link

In Namibia with the U.S. Peace Corps July 2014 - July 2016. View all posts by Steve Link

6 responses to “Ain’t No Sunshine When She’s Gone …but it sure is HOT!

  • Bobi

    I hope Barbara’s tests go well. You are lucky to have such nice neighbors (friends). I love the haircut! You look very sophisticated. Stay well. Best of luck to both of you.
    Love, Bobi

  • Marjorie Fox

    Sent email to Barbara to call me! Make sure she sees it Steve.

  • Foster

    Sorry it has to be under these circumstances, but we’re looking forward to seeing Barbara and pleased to be among those here in Cincy who have a chance to make sure she doesn’t get into any trouble while here!

  • Helene Sedwick

    Barb has arrived safely – taking a much-needed nap. We’ll take good care of her.

    Helene

  • Diana Link

    Hi! Steve, I am sorry that Barbara had to leave you. I hope she is alright. AND I hope and pray that YOU will be alright also !!! Please keep in touch. Bless you !

    LOVE, Mom

  • Lee Ketcham

    Barbara is about to see a Cincinnati snow storm. Weather forecasters are ramping up ominous predictions for extraordinary proportions – 8 or more inches of snow. We just arrived home from being away for 2 months, in Florida, so should predictions materialize we too will be astounded and amazed.
    Lee and Don

Leave a Reply

